ESA Rosetta Mission Ends

The ESA’s (European Space Agency) Rosetta mission to comet 67P/Churyumov–Gerasimenko was completed today.

From the ESA:

Confirmation of the end of the mission arrived at ESA’s control centre in Darmstadt, Germany at 11:19 GMT (13:19 CEST) with the loss of Rosetta’s signal upon impact.

Rosetta carried out its final manoeuvre last night at 20:50 GMT (22:50 CEST), setting it on a collision course with the comet from an altitude of about 19 km. Rosetta had targeted a region on the small lobe of Comet 67P/Churyumov–Gerasimenko, close to a region of active pits in the Ma’at region.

More information can be found here: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Space_Science/Rosetta/Mission_complete_Rosetta_s_journey_ends_in_daring_descent_to_comet

I liked the Twitter picture: (https://goo.gl/Z8wwYX)

ctmzyi7wiaeynvh

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.